Oh The Life of a College Student….

(Post transferred from my former site written 9.19.12)

Early mornings, Late nights, and lots of coffee to compliment all the awful loads of homework I get.. That’s pretty much how the Katelyn daily goes. This summer I spent a lot of time thinking about where I wanted my life to go in terms of what I wanted to do with it.. who I wanted to be. I spent a lot of my time working, but also another large chunk of my free time creating artwork. It was then that it dawned on me that I needed to make a change. I need to follow my passion. I have always loved art and working with people. But more importantly, working with kids.
This September, I took a step in the right direction, I changed my major to Art Education. The moment I got approved, my life felt like it was falling into place. Here are the classes that I’m taking:
1. Stats
-Never been great at math, so We’ll see where this takes me…
2. Art Education
-Absolutely am loving this class so far. 
3. 2D Design
-This is a huge challenge for me… This is a class that is relient on computer knowledge and very involved in software programs. Very hard!
4. 2D Digital imaging 
-This class is only offered online so it’s a bit of a challenge trying to teach myself the projects.
5. American Multicultural Literature
-I love reading and writing so I really don’t mind this class! Also taking this one online.
6. Ancient Medieval Art History
-I like this class a lot. A very strange amount, actually. I heard from a lot of people that this was the most boring class they took, but I absolutely love it and am fascinated by it all.

The first paper I wrote this semester was for my Art Education class on why I want to teach art to young people… Thought I would share it here:

When I think back upon my younger years, I often remember those who made an impact on my life. I of course recognize my parents, whom were there surrounding me with love and adoration, but it is the teachers who I think of next. It is teachers who I constantly reflect upon. I reflect upon those teachers who have made a tremendous impact on my life, not only as a young child, but even as an adult today. Those memories I have carried with me, even today, just as strong as they were in the yesteryears. You ask me why I want to teach young people, but I can answer you that question by simply asking you to think about all the teachers who have impacted your life in one way or another.

“It is the supreme art of the teacher to awaken joy in creative expression and knowledge.” These words were so proudly quoted by Albert Einstein, a teacher in his own creative habits. Although I have never personally taught in a classroom myself, I get a strong sense that there is no greater joy than to teach another human being. I get excited thinking about a time when I will be able to fully experience myself influencing a child’s creative expression. As I continue to reflect upon my life, I realize that there are many others in this world, without the job title as a teacher, who have taught me. My parents taught me how to tie my shoes, swim in the deep end, throw my fears behind me, and to know the difference between right and wrong. My sisters taught me how to dress like a girl, talk to boys, color in the lines, and prepare me for what was to come. My friends taught me how to be my complete self and how to be a not just a good friend, but a great one. There are so many influential people in our lives that we may or may not notice. We all have assumed the roles as a teacher at some point in our lives. Maybe even many.

I may have never taught in my own classroom, but I certainly do dream of it. When I think about why it is I want to be an art teacher teaching young people, the first immediate thought that comes to mind is “child at heart”. Although I am an independant, trustworthy adult figure, I do feel that my heart lies more on the child side. I love to joke, play, and laugh and I love that even more when I get to share that with kids. I was fortunate enough to have a wonderful childhood, and I often miss that time in my life when I could just be free as a bird. As an adult, we are tied to many more responsibilities compared to when we were kids and we didn’t have much to worry about. Things are no longer coated in sugar, for we are a part of the fierce, fast adult world. There was no class greater to me that held more value than my elementary school art class. It could have been the childish side of me, or the way we got to explore our creativity, but I truly think it had to do a lot with who it was that taught me. Sally Gibson was the name of my one-of-a-kind, artistically gifted art teacher. I had the pleasure of being one of her students from k-5 and I have to say she is a teacher unlike any other. I cannot fully explain to you what it was that made her so influential in my life. She made all of her students feel like what they created was unique, special and held great value. Something that many teachers do, but she did it differently. We were worthy of what we could created; all doors were open to us. The feelings that stirred inside me then are the same feelings that I have today.
Whenever I am around children I feel a sense of home and happiness. Maybe that is because I am truly a child at heart myself. The moment I changed my major to Art Education, that sense of home and happiness grew two sizes like the Grinch’s cold and lonely heart. That was the moment I knew this was it, the last puzzle piece that no other major could quite fulfill. I come from a family of teachers as well as talented artists, so what greater way than to showcase those two talents than to become a hybrid. I think I’ve found my way home in Art Education.

From my own personal experiences, being a teacher on this earth has brought me joy in many ways. I may not have the degree at hand, but that isn’t to say I have not taught. To assume the role of a teacher is not to put the smile on, grab a handful of encouragement, and to do it “just because”. To assume the role of a teacher is to already have the smile on, give compliments as they come, speak through your heart, and love what you do. You ask me why I want to teach art to young people, but I ask you to think of a teacher who has impacted your life in some way or another. A teacher who you will never forget because they were following their passion who encouraged you to find and follow yours. I don’t just want to be a teacher teaching young people; I want to be the teacher that students remember in the many years to come. 

I really enjoyed writing this paper… I truly found so many more reasons why I will be happy earning this degree.

I’m chasing after this dream of mine. Even if it’s hard and I want to give up at times, I’m not going to let the fear intimidate me.

BRING IT ON 😉

xoxo

Leave a Reply

